The Governing Body, with myself as Chair and Graham Flack as Vice-Chair meets at least termly.  In addition two committees, the Resources Committee and the Teaching and Learning Committee also meet at least termly.

The Resources Committee is chaired by Jo Gay and is responsible for the effective management of the schools resources – this includes: appointing members of staff; buildings; health and safety; performance and pay and other financial matters.

The Teaching and Learning Committee is chaired by Graham Flack and is responsible for the quality of education – this includes:  the curriculum; Special Educational Needs and Disability; school improvement and community/parent links.

We also have a Head Teacher’s Appraisal Committee to monitor the Head Teacher’s performance.  Finally we have a First Committee and Second Committee in place, to deal with staff conduct, grievances, complaints and appeals, if required.

If you would like more information about the structure of our Governing Body, the Terms of Reference for the committees are available from the school office.

We, the governors, understand it is our duty to ensure the very best for the children of Shirwell Community Primary School.  We expect outstanding outcomes for all pupils in every area of their lives and their learning.

We endeavor to obtain the very best for the children of our school.

Mary Byass

Chair of Governors

Mary Byass Chair of Governors
Graham Flack Vice Chair of Governors
Lorna Jones Parent Governor
Jo Gay Co-opted Governor
Joanna Bastian Parent Governor
Daniela Brunton Co-opted Governor
Claire Jones Staff Governor
Emily Gratton Parent Governor
Jackie Holmes Clerk to the Governors
Jacqueline Clink Co-opted Governor